The Frederick C. Morgan recipients are:

    • Sister Geraldine M. Hoyler, CSC, FHFMA, CPA

    Frederick C. Morgan Biography & Award

    Frederick C. Morgan, a life member of HFMA, served as national Secretary-Treasurer for six years. In 1967, he retired as assistant director and controller of Genessee Hospital in Rochester, New York, where he worked for 19 years. He taught a course and developed a textbook on office management at the Rochester Institute of Technology. Each year the Frederick C. Morgan Award is presented to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the field of healthcare financial management. The award was created in 1959.

    Nominations for the Morgan Award are submitted by chapter leaders or members on a prescribed form.

    Candidates need not be members of HFMA. Officers and directors of HFMA and members of the Morgan Award Judging Committee are not eligible during their terms of office.

    Each year, HFMA’s Chairman appoints a committee of HFMA members to judge the various candidates and select a Morgan Award recipient. The nominees are reviewed anonymously (all references to names are obliterated in the form) based on a number of criteria including:

    • Accomplishments and contributions to the healthcare financial management field.

    • Voluntary leadership service as well as awards earned within HFMA.

    • Accomplishments and contributions in state, regional and national healthcare activities other than financial management.

    • Articles published.

    • Lectures and presentations.

    The deadline for submitting Morgan Award nominations is February 28 each year. The award is presented at the Annual Banquet held during the Annual National Institute. The recipient is presented with a handsome plaque.